Bakery Review: Beurre & Sel NYC

Dorie Greenspan is one of my favorite bakers. She’s won the James Beard Foundation Award twice, paved the way for culinary-related apps, and is just so cute! Every recipe I’ve tried from her has turned out deliciously, and I wouldn’t question any of her chocolate-coated wisdom whatsoever.

Wall of prepackaged cookies at Buerre & Sel

Wall of prepackaged cookies at Buerre & Sel

This past Fall I heard about a cookie shop Dorie would be opening in NYC called Beurre & Sel! Since I live so close to the city, I couldn’t wait until I’d get an opportunity to visit her tiny little bakery myself. On a trip to visit my aunt, my mom sadly made her way down to the shop without me. Though disappointed, I couldn’t be upset with her for too long; she brought back tons of cookies for our whole family to try. Here is my review of some of the cookies we tasted:

FRESH BAKED

Jammers

These delicious, buttery shortbread cookies were perfectly crisp on the outside yet soft in the center. The sablés had a dollop of (blackberry?) jam in the center and were surrounded on all sides by crispy cookie crumbs.My only grievance is that I wish there had been more jam in the center…it was just so good!

photo-1

Blonde

This was a true blonde brownie (blondie) in the form of a cookie. It was classic – nutty, butter, and filled with white chocolate. Again, perfectly crisp on the outside and soft on the inside.

photo-2

Chocolate (also shown above)

I’m not sure the exact name of this cookie but wow it was delicious. A complete mix between a brownie, cookie, and thick fudge, there were added nuts, dried cherries, dark chocolate chunks, and even cocoa powder on top. I’m not even that big of a chocolate person, but something about this cookie was perfection.

PRE-PACKAGED

World Peace

This is one of Dorie’s most famed recipes, a chocolate sea salt sablé. I’ve made these cookies twice for various family and friends, so naturally I was excited to try out the cookies from Dorie herself. There were eleven cookies that came in pre-packaged in a plastic tin, but I think you could have bought them fresh-baked as well. I have to say disappointingly, the cookies I’ve made myself from this recipe were much better than these. Obviously they weren’t as fresh, but they just seemed a little too dry and crumbly for my taste. These definitely weren’t standouts, and I’d really recommend making them yourself. It’s even a pretty simple recipe!

Overall, Beurre & Sel was delicious. If you can make the trip, I’d really recommend trying out the fresh baked cookies (they were much better than the pre-packaged ones). You can also order online if you live too far away! Our favorite cookies ranked in this order: the chocolate cookies, jammers, blondes, and the world peace. There are many other varieties we didn’t get to taste, so try any of her others; I’m sure they’re all great!

One last note: I watched a great tutorial video of Dorie making cookies with the girls from Food52. Wonder how she gets her cookies to cook in perfect circles? After cutting them with a a cookie cutter, she actually bakes the cookies in the bottom of muffin tins! How cool is that?!

One response to “Bakery Review: Beurre & Sel NYC

  1. I love her blog too! Sadly, I’m a little (or a lot) far away from buerre & sel, but I’m thrilled you can be the official taste tester so we all know how yummy her goods are 😉

Leave a Reply

