My Favorite Carrot Cake

I’ve always enjoyed cooking and baking, but I really owe my peak in interest in these subjects to my high school cooking teacher, Mrs. Barnett. I wasn’t the only person she’s inspired – check out some others here. Β In her class I learned knife skills, how to cream sugar and butter, and was able to explore so many different facets of cooking. Her class quickly became one of my favorites, just as she became one of my favorite teachers. Even now, two years after originally taking her class, I still stop by frequently to help her wash dishes and learn.
IMG_3756IMG_3759

I also respect her culinary judgement as much as anyone’s. Every recipe we made in her class, and every other recipe she’s shared with me, has turned out flawless. The following recipe for carrot cake, as you probably can guess, is directly from her. We made the cake during class, and I’ve since made it four or five other times. I can honestly say it’s my favorite carrot cake recipe. Perfectly spiced, extremely moist.

IMG_3766IMG_3774

My mom’s favorite dessert is carrot cake, and she can attest that this recipe is the best (sorry for a lack of a better word…it’s just that good). After making the cake for these photos, we compared it to a local bakery’s, and this beat their’s by A LOT. Anyway, I hope you guys like it! Enjoy one of Mrs. Barnett’s wonderful recipes πŸ™‚

IMG_3783IMG_3798

Cake:

1 cup flour

1 cup sugar

3/4 cup liquid vegetable oil

2 eggs

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1 1/2 cup grated carrots

3/4 cup chopped walnuts

Set the oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 9 inch baking pan. Mix together the flour, sugar, eggs, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt. Add the carrots and walnuts. After well blending all the ingredients in a large mixing bowl on low speed with the electric mixer, pour the batter into the well greased and floured pan to bake. Bake for 35-44 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Frosting:

8 oz. softened cream cheese

4 oz. butter, room temperature

1/2 box 10x sugar (about 1 cup)

1 tsp. vanilla

Mix all ingredients together on high speed with the electric mixer until light and fluffy. Ice the cooled cake and refrigerate.

8 responses to “My Favorite Carrot Cake

  1. I’m a new reader of your blog, but so far… I like what I see πŸ™‚

    Carrot cake is definitely my favourite next to red velvet cake. I’m impressed of your patience and dedication in baking. Each time I whip out my recipe book and I take a glance at the long list of ingredients and (what seem like) complicated steps and I close the book again.

    Glad you discovered your passion in baking. I only wish I live near you so that I can drop by to have a slice or two of your baked goods hahaha πŸ˜€

  2. Here’s a wacky recipe thought, I love carrot cake too and I’ve recently stumbled across a medieval recipe idea where parsnips were used in place of sugar for cakes. Someone also mentioned that you can use golden parsnips in place of carrots for a cake which would also taste pretty rad.

    I love the proportion of fluffy icing and walnuts to the cake you have there. Those are usually my favourite bits!

    • Hmm…that sounds pretty interesting to try out! I’ve realized that a lot of my recipes use much more sugar than I’d like them to, so I’ve actually been looking for recipes that contain less sugar (and still taste good of course). I’ll definitely look into that, thanks for the cool idea!!

  3. This cake looks delicious! I have a great carrot cake recipe that has both carrots and zest of orange. It is one of the most moist and flavorful cakes I have made and I am not a huge fan of carrot cakes. Awesome post πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

